0

Mini-Review: Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper

Posted by Jennifer McDonald on September 28, 2014 in Reviews |

Ellie Jordan

Published September 19th 2014

by jlbryanbooks.com

Genre:  Paranormal/Ghosts

Received a copy for an honest review

Synopsis:

Ellie Jordan’s job is to catch and remove unwanted ghosts. Part detective, part paranormal exterminator, Ellie operates out of Savannah, Georgia, one of the oldest and most haunted cities in North America.

When a family contacts her to deal with a disturbing presence in the old mansion they’ve recently purchased, Ellie first believes it to be a typical, by-the-book specter, a residual haunting by a restless spirit. Instead, she finds herself confronting an evil older and more powerful than she’d ever expected, rooted in the house’s long and sordid history of luxury, sin, and murder. The dangerous entity seems particularly interested in her clients’ ten-year-old daughter.

Soon her own life is in danger, and Ellie must find a way to exorcise the darkness of the house before it can kill her, her clients, or their frightened young child.

Jennifer’s Review:

I have come to have high expectations from any book that bears the name J.L. Bryan. Let’s just say that my expectations were met and then some. One of the things I admire the most is the way Bryan uses words. The attention to detail in both the story building and characters is stupendous.

Now, I am not one to enjoy anything that will scare me, so for me to give this book a 5-star rating says a lot. I knew from the title that there was a paranormal aspect and was expecting some moments here and there. After all, my hubby and daughter love to watch ghost hunting shows so I know a little something about the topic. However, I was not expecting this. I am a total, 100% scaredy cat, but I loved this book. The story line was interesting. It had an unexpected twist, great characters, and everything that makes a book worth reading.

With October soon arriving, this book might just be what you’re looking for.  I think it will fit the season quite nicely.

 

0

Cover Love for The Fear of Letting Go by Sarra Cannon

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on September 26, 2014 in Cover Reveal |

 

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00071]

A Fairhope Novel

New Adult Contemporary Romance

Releasing November 2014

Cover designed by Okay Creations

 

She’ll have to let go of the past in order to find a love that could last a lifetime.

All I wanted when I moved to Fairhope was to disappear. I wanted to become a ghost. A stranger to everyone who knew me before, including my parents. Especially my parents. I never expected to become someone. A friend. A faithful employee. A scholar. And least of all, a lover. Love is a word I never truly understood until I moved here and witnessed it with my own eyes. My own heart.

I always believed love was a fairy tale, and now that I’m starting to fall for Fairhope’s most eligible billionaire, Preston Wright, it all feels like some cruel joke. A dream I need to shake myself out of before it’s too late. Before I make the same mistakes my mother made and end up right back where I started.

I know I should stay as far away from him as possible, but fate keeps pulling us back together. I’ve never been so afraid of something in my life. And I’ve never wanted someone more.

This is book 4 in the Fairhope series, but each book can be read as a stand – alone.

 

About the Author

Sarra Cannon grew up in a small town in Georgia where she learned that being popular always comes at a price. She is the author of the young adult paranormal Peachville High Demons series, which she first began self-publishing in October of 2010. Since the series began, Sarra has sold over 120,000 copies and recently signed a contract with Sea Lion Books to create a graphic novel adaptation of Beautiful Demons, the first book in the series.

Sarra lives in North Carolina with her amazing husband, her baby boy, and her teeny tiny Pomeranian, Snickerdoodle.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads
 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

0

Guest Post & Giveaway: A Perfect Dilemma by Zoe Dawson

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on September 22, 2014 in Giveaways, Interviews |

 

RELEASE

APD Amazon GR SW

A Perfect Secret Series, #3

New Adult Contemporary Romance and Mystery

Released September 22, 2014

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iTunes

 

The one secret she can’t stand to keep is the one she can’t afford to tell.

The perfect little rich girl, River Pearl Sutton has always done what her family expected of her. She’d become the perfect little beauty queen, the perfect child model and now her global success locks her into a life she never really chose.

Coming home for the summer to prepare for the Founder’s Day Festival, a celebration of her lauded ancestor, she is tasked by her father to write a speech to be delivered at the end of the party.

Returning to Hope Parish brings her back into close proximity with sweet-talking, skirt-chasing Braxton Outlaw, the boy who always seemed immune to her charms in high school. But now he looks at her with those challenging blue eyes, both intimidating and seductive at the same time. Using research of her family lineage and his as way to get close to this bad boy, they fall into a hot, torrid affair.

She stumbles across a terrible secret that could bring to ruin not only her reputation, but the reputation and standing of her family. But when her infatuation with Brax grows into something that she can’t live without, she must decide what to do. Keep the secret and lose Brax or destroy her family and lose them.

It’s an awful, heartrending perfect dilemma.

 

Writing A Perfect Secret Series

By Zoe Dawson

I actually came up with the first title for this series while I was sitting at my desk surfing the web. When I saw the title, it resonated with me. I wrote it down on a sticky and stuck it to my computer monitor. There it sat for a couple of months. Sometimes I would hit it and knock it off my monitor and think, oh, yeah, I love that title.

Then a friend of mine asked me to be in a New Adult Christmas Anthology with her and ten other authors. She was calling it The 12 NA’s of Christmas. I told her I’d never written any NA and she suggested some books for me to read.

I read a few and I was hooked. I love angsty characters and I saw how NA could fit well with my writing voice. I also thought that A Perfect Mess would be a great title. That’s when I conceived of using “being perfect” as a theme for all three books.

I had some writing that I wasn’t able to sell to a publisher, but I loved the concept of a payroll gold shipment in the Civil War being stolen and the soldiers escorting the gold murdered. I also knew that everyone swoons over bad boys. Since I was writing a trilogy I decided that it would be fun to make my heroes identical triplets. So swoon + bad boys + triplets = some truly sexy Outlaw hotties. It just came natural to write them as close knit because they were outcasts and really only had each other to rely on for support. I also decided because they were brothers, they would always smack talk each other. But, down deep they were very family-oriented. It was a pleasure in each book to figure out what silly, fun things they were going to do next. Those instance became known as Outlaw antics.

I paired them with the “perfect” untouchable girls because of their bad reputation, thought up A Perfect Mistake for the second book title, and then A Perfect Dilemma for the third that used my idea of the payroll gold and the murder of the soldiers. That’s how I came up with A Perfect Secret Series.

 

The author is giving away (1) $25 Gift Card! To enter, visit her Facebook page HERE.



About the Author

Zoe Dawson is the alter ego of Karen Anders, award winning, multi-published author. Her writing journey started with poetry and branched out into fiction. With a couple of college English courses under her belt, she penned a historical, then moved onto contemporary romance fiction. Today, she is happy producing romantic suspense, romantic mystery, urban fantasy and paranormal novels. The words feed her soul and the happily ever afters feed her heart.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Blog | Goodreads | Newsletter

 

 photo AToMRlogo_zps663eb177.png

1

Guest Post & Giveaway: Damaged Goods by Nicole Williams

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on September 9, 2014 in Giveaways, Interviews |

HAPPY RELEASE

to

DAMAGED GOODS

by NYT Bestselling Author Nicole Williams

 

DG AmazonGRSW

 

The Outsider Chronicles, #2

(stand-alone)

New Adult/Adult Contemporary

Release: September 9, 2014

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iBooks

When Liv Bennett said good-bye to her sinkhole of a hometown, she planned to leave that chapter of her life behind forever. But forever turned out to only be three years.

After her addict of a mother up and disappears, Liv returns to what she considers her own personal hell smack in the middle of nowhere Nevada to take care of her two younger sisters, and she promptly reinstitutes the golden rule that got her through her first nineteen years of life without getting knocked up, roughed up, or messed up: don’t date the local boys and, god forbid, don’t fall in love with one of them.

It isn’t long before that golden rule is put to the test.

Will Goods grew up in the next trailer over, but the wild, careless boy who used to tear up the town with his three brothers has morphed into someone else so completely, he’s almost unrecognizable. The quiet, contemplative man who works on cars every night and takes care of his mentally ill mother every day is nothing like the local boys Liv grew up avoiding.

But when Liv considers suspending her golden rule just this once, she finds out something about Will that will change everything.

Will Goods isn’t who he used to be—he’s not even the man Liv thinks she’s gotten to know over the summer. He’s become someone else entirely.

He’s become . . .

Damaged Goods.

 

 The Outsider Chronicles Series

By Nicole Williams

The Outsider Chronicles is my latest series (the first book, HARD KNOX, was released in August) that will bounce between the New Adult and Adult Contemporary Romance realms. Each book will highlight different couples, and will not need to be read in any kind of order. Each book can be read as a standalone.  There won’t be any particular mold for the heroes or heroines (I’ll have the whole spectrum of male leads, from Judes to Jesses!) but the love story for each couple will be fraught with seemingly insurmountable odds and a gauntlet of obstacles. The steam factor will range from light to heavy with each book as well. Whereas HARD KNOX was in the mid range, DAMAGED GOODS amps it up a bit. Basically, each story will be something different than the previous ones, but I hope each couple will resonate with readers in some way.

The author is offering a release giveaway! Visit Nicole’s Facebook page to enter!

 

About the Author

I’m the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of the CRASH series (HarperTeen, S&S UK), LOST & FOUND series, UP IN FLAMES (S&S UK), The EDEN TRILOGY, and a handful of others. I write stories about everyday kinds of people who find themselves in extraordinary kinds of situations. I tell love stories with happy endings because I believe in making the world a better place, and that’s one tiny way I can make it so. I’m one of those people who still believe in true love and soul mates, and would rather keep my head in the clouds any day over having my feet firmly on the ground.

Blog | Twitter | Facebook

 

 

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

3

Author’s Take on Eva & Giveaway: Forget You by Jennifer Snyder

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on September 2, 2014 in Giveaways, Interviews |

RELEASE

FORGET YOU

By Jennifer Snyder

Forget You Cover

Cold Creek Companion Series #4

New Adult Contemporary

Releasing September 2, 2014

 

Eva Bennett might be known for her candid approach and sharp tongue, but on the inside she’s still a vulnerable twenty-four year old who’s sick of kissing toads and being habitually single.

Full of comical one-liners and wielding a charming smile, Sawyer Keeton is more than meets the eye. After the news of his brother’s tragic death, however, Sawyer is pulled into a place filled with crippling emotions and pain—a place no one can seem to reach him…until the moment Eva steps into his life.

A twist of fate will bring them together and then tear them apart, forcing the two to learn there are people in life whom you cherish and pray will never forget you.

 

AUTHOR’S TAKE ON EVA

By Jennifer Snyder

 

While Eva is incredably georgious, she’s also very blunt in the things that she says. I myself was first introduced to Eva while writing Control You, she was Cam’s best friend who didn’t take any shit off him or anyone. I loved that about her. She’s very cynical and sarcastic at times, but she has her reasons for that. Her childhood wasn’t all rainbows and pretty pictures.

Eva’s mother was an adict who overdosed when she was six, because she never knew who her father was, she was slipped into the foster system shortly after. Being raised by strangers who mistreated her and broke promises molded her into someone who doesn’t give their heart away easily. Sawyer somehow finds a way to break through all of that in a humorious, sweet way, giving her hope that someone as broken as herself can find a lasting love.

 

Four Facts About Eva:

* She hates pet names for people.

* Pumpkin Spice coffee is her favorite flavor.

* She loves Ernest Hemingway quotes. It’s something her and Cam share in common.

* She wanted Sawyer from the first moment she laid eyes on him, but she would never admit to that out loud.

 

Favorite Sentence:

(This is Eva’s take on all the single guys at a party she attends.)

I counted all the assholes in the room, and decided in an instant the ratio of nice guys to jerks wasn’t in my favor tonight.

 

Head over the Jennifer Snyder’s Facebook page to enter her Swag Pack Giveaway!

___

About the Author

Jennifer Snyder lives in North Carolina were she spends most of her time writing New Adult and Young Adult Fiction, reading, and struggling to stay on top of housework. She is a tea lover with an obsession for Post-it notes and smooth writing pens. Jennifer lives with her husband and two children, who endure listening to songs that spur inspiration on repeat and tolerate her love for all paranormal, teenage-targeted TV shows.

SHATTERED SOUL was my debut novel and no, you haven’t seen the end of me yet…

WebsiteTwitterGoodreadsFacebook Author Page

 

 photo AToMR-PRomotions-smaller-web_zps38ffe9e0.jpg

0

Blocked: Cover & Giveaway from Jennifer Lane

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on August 25, 2014 in Cover Reveal, Giveaways |

COVER REVEAL

BLOCKED

By Jennifer Lane

 

Blocked Cover

 

New Adult Contemporary/Sports Romance

Releasing October 21, 2014

College freshman Lucia Ramirez has a secret crush on Dane Monroe. He’s a tall drink of water — blond, brash, and one hell of a volleyball player. Hijole. Lucia hopes her volleyball scholarship to his school will make him notice her.

Too bad what’s noticeable is Dane’s obvious hatred for Lucia. Her family’s politics contradict everything he stands for. And politics are front and center in both their families. Dane’s mother is about to face Lucia’s father in the race for US President.

When Secret Service throws them together, Dane can’t deny his frustrating attraction to Lucia’s athletic curves and sweet faith in the world. Amid the intense pressure of college athletics and presidential politics, can opposites not just attract, but overcome overwhelming odds to be together? Or do their differences block their match from the start?

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22573624-blocked

 

If you would like to participate in the Release Event and/or Request to Review BLOCKED, you can find out more information HERE.

GIVEAWAY

Jennifer Lane is giving away a $10 Amazon Gift Card and an Advanced Reader Copy of BLOCKED on her Facebook page! You can enter HERE.

 

About the Author

Get psyched for romance with psychologist/author (psycho author) Jennifer Lane! By day she witnesses growth in her psychotherapy clients, and by night she wrangles misbehaving fictional characters as she writes sports romance and romantic suspense with a psychological twist. She can’t decide which is more fun.

A swimmer and volleyball player in college, Jen wove some of her own experiences into Streamline—a military mystery about swimmers. And readers can dip their toes into Jen’s world of swimming romance by sampling her free New Adult novella Swim Recruit. (optional link to include: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/swim-recruit-jennifer-lane/1113038601?ean=2940044896642)

College volleyball romance Blocked is Jen’s newest release, launching 10-21-14. Peek inside big-time college sports and even bigger national politics when the offspring of two presidential candidates find out whether opposites really do attract, or their match is blocked from the start.

Stories of redemption interest Jen the most, especially the healing power of love. She is also the author of The Conduct Series, a romantic suspense trilogy that includes With Good Behavior, Bad Behavior, and On Best Behavior. Ultimately, whether writing or reading, Jen loves stories that make her laugh and cry.

In her spare time she enjoys exercising, attending book club, hanging out with her plus-size, “I’m not fat, I’m big-boned” Izzie cat, and visiting her sisters and their families in Chicago and Hilton Head.

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter 

 

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

0

My Thoughts…If I Stay movie

Posted by Jennifer McDonald on August 23, 2014 in My Thoughts..., Reviews |

ifistayposter

Release date August 22, 2014

Distributed by New Line Cinema, MGM, and Warner Bros.

Rated PG-13

Movie Synopsis:

Mia Hall (Moretz) thought the hardest decision she would ever face would be whether to pursue her musical dreams at Juilliard or follow a different path to be with the love of her life, Adam (Blackley).  But what should have been a carefree family drive changes everything in an instant, and now her own life hangs in the balance.  Caught between life and death for one revealing day, Mia has only one decision left, which will not only decide her future but her ultimate fate.

Jennifer’s Thoughts:

I have been tracking this movie’s details since I first heard that Gayle Forman’s book, If I Stay , was being made into a movie.  I fan-girled right along with everyone else when it was revealed that Jamie Blackley was going to be portraying Adam.  He is absolutely swoon worthy. And of course, Chloe Grace Moretz for Mia?  forget about it.  She’s perfect.   I counted down the days until the August 22, 2014 release.  I’ve followed all the If I Stay movie news on Tumblr.  Let’s just say I have anxiously anticipated the day that I could see this book come to life.

Today my wait was over.  *Sigh* I must say I’m feeling euphoric after watching this beautiful story come to life.  The casting for this movie was perfection.  Each character owned their role.  I’ve read many books that were made into movies, and often I’m disappointed.  However, this one was pure gold. Everything about the movie was wonderful and emotional.  The soundtrack is amazing.  Jamie Blackley actually sings in the concert scenes.  Absolutely fantastic.  There were so many feels about this movie that I feel like bottling it all up and saving it for another day.

I want to wrap myself up in the book all over again. Spend time in this story until I get it out of my system (which let’s be honest won’t be any time soon).  I’m going to suggest that if you haven’t done so already, read If I Stay.  Then go see If I Stay, the movie.  After that read book 2, Where She Went. You don’t actually have to follow in that order, but definitely do all three.  You’ll thank me later, so you’re welcome.

You can buy the books wherever books are sold:

amazon buy buttonbarnes and noble buy button

IfIstaybook

Whereshewentbook

You can watch the movie trailer here:

If I Stay movie trailer

0

Release: All for This by Lexi Ryan

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on August 4, 2014 in Excerpts |

 

All for This cover

Release August 4, 2014

New Adult Contemporary Romance

 

1) LOST IN ME is FREE through the ALL FOR THIS tour, August 4th – 18th!

2) ALL FOR THIS will be $2.99 on release day and $3.99 thereafter.

All for This Available Now Banner

 

**ALL FOR THIS is book three in the Here and Now series. It is not a stand-alone and it’s intended to be read after LOST IN ME and FALL TO YOU.**

 

What if you would never remember the day you made the most important decision of your life?

That’s what they’re telling me about the day of my accident—the day I put on Max’s ring and chose him over Nate. I’m counting on the wisdom behind a decision I don’t remember making.

Max is amazing—sexy, sweet, and kind. I was starting to believe happily-ever-after might be in my future after all. Then the unthinkable happened and my world imploded. If I’m going to make this work with Max, I need my missing memories, or at least answers from about those five days before my accident.

But what does my future hold if those answers aren’t anything like I imagined?

 

All for This Playlist

Justin Timberlake—Drink You Away

Rihanna—Stay

Muse—Madness

Ingrid Michaelson feat. A Great Big World—Over You

A Great Big World—Already Home

Sam Smith—Stay with Me

Pink, Nate Reuss—Just Give Me a Reason

Ani DiFranco—Falling Is Like This

Norah Jones—Come Away With Me

Train—Marry Me

Oh Honey—Be Okay

 

Amazon US: http://amzn.com/B00MDWI3X4

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/All-This-Here-Now-Book-ebook/dp/B00MDWI3X4

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/all-for-this-lexi-ryan/1118893146

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/all-for-this-2

iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/all-for-this/id836873885?mt=11&uo=4

Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Lexi_Ryan_All_for_This?id=fMMzBAAAQBAJ&hl=en

 

About the Author

Once a college English professor, I now write full time. I live in rural Indiana, where, when I’m not writing, I get to hang out with my husband and two kids–a six-year-old boy and a two-year-old hellion, er, girl. Not surprisingly, reading and writing remain my favorite activities, though both come in bits and pieces these days, not the big hunks of time I enjoyed before I had children. When I’m feeling virtuous, I like to go running (I use that word liberally. I’m really, really slow) or do yoga. Don’t worry, I’m always careful to balance out such activities with a hearty serving of ice cream or a chocolate martini.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps2b315b86.png

0

Release: Fast Glamour by Maggie Marr

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on July 31, 2014 in Excerpts |

 

RECENTLY RELEASED

FAST GLAMOUR

 BY MAGGIE MARR

 Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00071]

Glamour Series, #3

New Adult Contemporary

Released July 23, 2014

Amazon | Barnes and Noble

A broken heart forever bears scars. . .

Sterling Legend grew up a prince in the City of Angels. His life was perfect and he wanted for nothing until his entire world shattered. He lost everything dear to him the year he turned seventeen. Now he’s grown into a formidable man on the cusp of outrageous success. His life revolves around his work and all the beautiful baubles that Los Angeles can offer to a wealthy young man. He’s buried his feelings and his heart so that he will never be hurt again.

 

A lost love that she could never forget . . .

Rhiannon Bliss was forced to leave L.A. to extinguish the fire of a first love, but an ocean, a different country, and seven years couldn’t quell her desires. Now she’s returned to the City of Angels to care for her mother. Can she fight her feelings for the man that once broke her heart? Does she even want to?

 

Finding your way back to love can be an impossible path. . . 

Sterling Legend is at the top of the entertainment industry. His fast rise to success due to his talent and to his last name. But Sterling wants to find success on his own. He is on the path to producing his first film, without his famous father as the star, when the ex-love of his life re-enters his world. Rhiannon Bliss left seven years before without a word. Sterling has no need to forgive, but his desire for Rhiannon is overwhelming. Can two broken hearts use the heat of their attraction to find their way back to love?

 

 

About the Author

Maggie Marr grew up in the Midwest and made the move to Los Angeles to work in the movie business.  She was a motion picture literary agent for ICM before becoming a full time writer.  She’s written for film and TV and ghostwritten for celebrities.  She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and children.

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest Goodreads | Amazon

 

 

Other titles in the series that can be read as standalone. 

HG Amazon GR SW

Broken Glamour-Amazon GR SW

 

 photo AToMR-PRomotions-smaller-web_zps38ffe9e0.jpg

1

Sneak Peek into All for This by NYT Bestselling Author Lexi Ryan

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on July 29, 2014 in Excerpts |

All for This cover

Releasing August 4, 2014

New Adult Contemporary Romance

Pre-order NOW

 photo ibookstorebadge_zps88ced49e.jpg
**ALL FOR THIS is book three in the Here and Now series. It is not a stand-alone and it’s intended to be read after LOST IN ME and FALL TO YOU.**

 

What if you would never remember the day you made the most important decision of your life?

That’s what they’re telling me about the day of my accident—the day I put on Max’s ring and chose him over Nate. I’m counting on the wisdom behind a decision I don’t remember making.

Max is amazing—sexy, sweet, and kind. I was starting to believe happily-ever-after might be in my future after all. Then the unthinkable happened and my world imploded. If I’m going to make this work with Max, I need my missing memories, or at least answers from about those five days before my accident.

But what does my future hold if those answers aren’t anything like I imagined?

 

All for This FB banner (Pre-release)

 

The following excerpt from ALL FOR THIS by its very nature contains spoilers for the first two books in the Here and Now series, LOST IN ME and FALL TO YOU. If you hate spoilers and haven’t read the first two books, I recommend you don’t read any further.

 

EXCERPT:

 

Max

 

“How are you holding up? Did it go okay with Nate last night?”

She stiffens at his name. “He asked me to move to LA.”

Of course he did. “And what did you say?”

She blinks at me. “I’m not leaving New Hope. This is my home.”

“He wanted more than for you to move to LA.” I take a step closer. I need to touch her. I wonder if she knows she’s pulling away from me, if she can feel it like I can. It’s as if we’re connected by a thousand little threads like those in a woven rug and they’ve been breaking one at a time since the moment Nate came back into town. With every breath, I feel another thread snap. “He wanted you.”

She shrugs. “I’m already taken.”

I draw in a deep breath. She lifts her hand to my face and skims her fingers along my jaw.

I groan softly and slide my hand into her hair as I lower my mouth to hers. She’s soft and sweet, and I need more of her.

Taking a fistful of her skirt, I yank her dress up around her waist and find the cotton of her panties. She gasps, and I rub her through the fabric as her fingers curl into my back. My lips find her neck and the skin in the sensitive juncture of neck and shoulder.

“Max,” she says. But it’s not the normal breathy, needy whispering of my name. The word is a warning. A yield sign. “Max.”

My hand stills and I pull back to look into her eyes. I’m blindsided by the apology I see there. “Let’s move in together.”

“What?” She blinks at me. If she’s thinking I have the world’s worst timing with important proposals, she’s not wrong.

“We could rent out our apartments and use the money to rent a little place together. Someplace without those stairs that scare the living shit out of me every time I think of you climbing them. Someplace we can make our own.” I take her hand and squeeze. “You didn’t want to move in together last spring because you knew your mom would flip if you lived with a guy before marriage, but we’re not trying to maintain appearances anymore, are we?” She looks at the floor, and I tilt her chin back up so her eyes meet mine. “I could give two shits about appearances. I want to wake up with you in my arms, Hanna. I want to know I’m going to be right there when you need me, every time you need me. You and Claire are all that matter in my world. I want everything that matters to be what I come home to every night.”

“I’m sorry.” She steps back. “I just can’t. I’m too confused right now.”

My lungs burn as I fill them—it hurts to breathe in a world where Hanna isn’t mine.

“I know it’s not fair. And I want a future with you, but…”

“But you can’t stop thinking about him.”

“I can’t move in with you right now,” she says softly. “That wouldn’t be fair to either of us. It’s not that simple.”

“You keep saying that.”

I swallow back the rest of what I want to say right along with my anger, frustration, and the betrayal I’ve never allowed myself to feel. While I was waiting for her to take my ring, she was with another man, and I was never allowed to be angry because that man died and she needed to grieve.

I drag a hand through my hair and look at the ceiling. “Was it that simple when you made love to him?”

“Can we not do this?”

Torment is etched across her face, and I can’t stand to know I’m the one who put it there. I pull her against my chest.

“I won’t rush you, but remember something for me,” I whisper into her hair. “You put on my ring.”

 

New to the series? Book #1, LOST IN ME, is FREE for a limited time!

Lost in Me Avail Now Banner free for a lim time

 

Here and Now Series FB banner Revised FtY

 

About the Author

Once a college English professor, I now write full time. I live in rural Indiana, where, when I’m not writing, I get to hang out with my husband and two kids–a six-year-old boy and a two-year-old hellion, er, girl. Not surprisingly, reading and writing remain my favorite activities, though both come in bits and pieces these days, not the big hunks of time I enjoyed before I had children. When I’m feeling virtuous, I like to go running (I use that word liberally. I’m really, really slow) or do yoga. Don’t worry, I’m always careful to balance out such activities with a hearty serving of ice cream or a chocolate martini.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps2b315b86.png

Copyright © 2010-2014 A Tale of Many Reviews All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.2, from BuyNowShop.com.