0

Blog Tour + Teaser + Author Q&A: Felix by Elizabeth Reyes

Posted by Jennifer McDonald on November 21, 2014 in Book Tours, Excerpts, Interviews, Reviews |

TourBanner-Felix

Today is my turn to show some love for this amazing new release from Elizabeth Reyes.  This is going to be one jam packed post full of all things Felix, and maybe a little bit more.  So, sit back, relax, and enjoy.

Felix-Cover

Published November 13, 2014

Genre:  New Adult

Synopsis:

They say the only good thing about hitting rock bottom is that it can’t get any worse . . . or can it? 

World famous boxing champ, Felix Sanchez, had it all—the fame, the fortune, and all the women any man could ask for. When the hours of partying followed by hours spent in court and in rehab begin to outnumber the hours he spends training, losing his title comes as no surprise to everyone. The world assumes he deserved to lose it.

Only those closest to Felix know the real truth behind his sudden downward spiral. And if Felix has his way, no one else ever will. With an uncertain future ahead of him, he heads back to his roots—5th Street—the gym that started it all for him. It’s where he meets the humble but mighty little Ms. Ella.

The only times Felix had ever decided to forgo the usual meaningless fling and try a real relationship he was burned badly. Now the adorable but tenacious self-defense instructor has him considering this love thing one more time.

Then just when he begins to worry that his past is letting his possessive and jaded heart get the best of him, he’s blindsided in the most brutal way—he’s brought to his knees—to what could be the one low in his life he may never recover from.

Felix Teaser #6 - A Tale of Many Book Reviews

goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

Review:

Alpha males, family loyalty, friendships, strong females, and “can’t put down the book” story lines are just some of the things that I have come to love and appreciate about Elizabeth Reyes’s books.  I know that when I pick up a book that has Elizabeth’s name on it that I am in for nothing but the best.

I have read all the books in the 5th Street series.  I was so satisfied with Abel that I thought no way could he be topped.  In my eyes Abel was perfection.  Then along comes Felix.  From the outside he has it all but on the inside he is broken.  The type of character that just cries out for me to love him.  I fell for Felix right along with Ella.  I just didn’t fall over the edge.  Elizabeth put just enough of the other characters from 5th Street to keep me focused.  I knew I couldn’t completely give my heart to Felix because Abel was subtlely making his presence known. Even though Felix didn’t win my whole heart he sure did grab a piece of it.

There was so much packed in this book that I felt like it was Christmas day and I was the only one with all the presents.  My emotions ran the spectrum from laugh out loud to cry like a baby. Felix is sexy, no lie.  He is part of the 5th street family.  The camaraderie he shares with the guys makes for some fun moments but they also can be serious.  I have a new respect for Gio.  Felix had some past history that was heart breaking.  Get the Kleenex ready.  When he fell in love it was fast, real, and tested.  The woman that grabbed his attention was nicknamed “Mighty Little Ms. Ella.”  She was tough but compassionate.  Probably one of my favorite female characters.  Felix + Ella = Sizzling Chemistry.  Felix is a fighter, Ella is a fighter, and there was no way either of them was going to lose.

I would like to add that the cover to this book is just plain amazing.  I love, love, love it.  There is a few lines in the book that match the image of the cover perfectly.  “He fell to a knee and crouched over…One knee was still up and he used it to support his arm; his other fist pushed against the floor, keeping him from just falling over.”  That cover is the perfect visual for this moment in the book.  Ugh, someone grab me another Kleenex.

I enjoyed reading this story as much as all the rest.  I did find that there was some predictability to one of the story lines.  I saw it coming but it still got me right in the feels. Felix is a great read, no doubt.  Get your copy, grab your hot cocoa, and snuggle up in a comfy blanket on the couch with Felix.  You will enjoy every minute.

amazon buy buttonbarnes and noble buy button

Author Bio:

EliReyes

USA Today Bestselling Author, Elizabeth Reyes continues to answer to her calling on a daily basis. Since releasing her debut novel Forever Mine (Moreno Brothers #1) in 2010 she has now published 9 full length novels total and fast at work on the next. The excitement her Moreno Brothers, 5th Street, and Fate series have garnered has far exceeded her wildest dreams. It is with as much excitement that she’ll continue to put out books related to these series as well as introduce brand new ones very soon.

In 2014 she will take her next step in the exciting world of writing and publish her first traditionally published book with Simon & Schuster/Atria. But she will continue putting out self published books as well.

Author Q&A

As part of this post I wanted to ask a few questions of Elizabeth.  She didn’t disappoint.  I’d like to thank her for taking the time to answer my questions.  Here we go:

1.  What did you like about writing Felix?  Was it Felix himself or did another character sneak up on you and steal the show? I’m going to admit I think Ella may’ve stolen some of Felix’s thunder. She is very likely the strongest heroine I’ve ever written. I knew when I started writing his story he was going to need someone strong that could handle him but , Ella, she just blew me away. =)

 

2.  My husband is from a large Mexican family.  Lots of aunts, uncles, and cousins.  Family is a big deal.  I love how your books embrace this dynamic.  How much of your life is mirrored in your books?  Oh my goodness! SO much of my life and family have made it into my books. There isn’t any one character that I would say oh he’s like my cousin or uncle or aunt. It’s more of a mixture of several people not just in my family but my extended family. Friends I’ve known all my life even former co-workers.

 

3.  Is there any difference for you in writing the Moreno series compared to the 5th Street series? Every book has been different for me. Even books within the same series. It’s what I love about writing.  Every time I finish one it’s bittersweet because it’s over but then I get to start on a brand new adventure. Sure while in the same series you still get glimpses of other characters you worked with before but the new story is so different like you can’t even compare Sweet Sofie to say Romero. Or Noah’s to Felix. They’re all so different. So long answer is yes.

 

4.  This book release is for Felix.  What is your favorite thing about Felix?  I think what I loved best about his story and I think it’s what’s a lot of readers will likely appreciate is that there are no misunderstandings (not any that lead into any serious conflicts or fights) These two talk things out maturely and work it out. There is no lack of communication  that can make for frustrating reads. I also love how their love for each other is so undeniable. 

 

5.  What book are you working on next?  Anyone we know going to get a book?  I’m currently working on Lorenzo’s book. My next Fate book. “Suspicious Minds” After his I think I will work on a prequel novella for my Desert Heat series to better introduce everyone to the Santiago Brothers. And then Sydney is getting his own story in the final Fate series book. 

 

6.  The covers of your books are HOT. The 5th Street series got a cover makeover recently.  Do you have any say in the covers? Yes!  I actually spent hours poring through stock photos of hot boxer guys. I know “Work! Work! Work!” ;) But I will give credit where credit is due my cover artist was the one that found the photo for Felix’s cover which I LOVE.

 

7. Many authors have Street Teams. You have an amazing Street Team on facebook, (I know because I’m one of them).  How did that idea come about and what exactly is a Street Team?  Yes first let me TOTALLY agree that I have the most AMAZING Street Team EVER!! =D Second I had a reader mention and ask if I had one. I said I wouldn’t even know how to go about putting one together. Next thing I knew I had an invite to my own Street Team and we’re close to 400 members now!

 

Lightning round:

Morenos or 5th Street? Yikes! You can’t ask me this! Usually I say I’m in love with whichever I’m working on but since I’m currently working on Lorenzo’s story I’ll have to say Fate! ;) RIGHT NOW!

Tamales or menudo? Oooh … On a cold day menudo hands down but I love me some tamales!  

 

Christmas or Thanksgiving? Christmas! I LOVE decorating my house and lights EVERYWHERE. I love the songs, the baking, the cooking, the movies. I just love it all around!

 

Summer or Winter? Winter! I love being in my cozy jammies ALL day!

 

Mountains or Ocean? Mountains. Though I do enjoy having coffee in the early morning in a quaint foggy beach city.

 

Alpha males or strong females? You need them both to make a good match but if I have to choose. Alpha Males are my absolute favorite!

 

Dessert or main dish? I’m bad. Dessert. =/

 

Books or movies? Books!

 

Facebook or Twitter? I’m much better at Facebook but I think I’m finally getting a hang of Twitter.  

Thank you Elizabeth for answering my questions.  In the lightning round you answered most of them the way I would have.  Maybe that’s why you’re one of my favorite authors.  

 

Author Social Links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Printerest | Instagram

 

Don’t forget to check out the other books in the 5th street series.

5th Street series

Buy Links for the 5th Street series:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1Eu19kT

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1wmebwu

B&N: http://bit.ly/1oLJx1V

Kobo: http://bit.ly/1xhARDn

iTunes: http://bit.ly/1ubZpLS

 

Be sure to follow the other stops on the blog tour here: http://bit.ly/1u2ZDk0

Thanks to As the Pages Turn for putting this blog tour together.  It’s been fun.

button

0

Release Day Blitz: Felix (5th Street #5) by Elizabeth Reyes

Posted by Jennifer McDonald on November 13, 2014 in New Releases |

I am ecstatic to be a part of the release day blitz for Felix by Elizabeth Reyes.  As many of you know she is one of my all time favorite authors.  We have been seduced with Tuesday Teasers on Elizabeth Reyes’s site and now the wait is over.  Here he is…Felix!!!!!


Felix-Cover

Release Date: November 13, 2014

Genre: New Adult

Synopsis:  

They say the only good thing about hitting rock bottom is that it can’t get any worse . . . or can it? 


World famous boxing champ, Felix Sanchez, had it all—the fame, the fortune, and all the women any man could ask for. When the hours of partying followed by hours spent in court and in rehab begin to outnumber the hours he spends training, losing his title comes as no surprise to everyone. The world assumes he deserved to lose it.

Only those closest to Felix know the real truth behind his sudden downward spiral. And if Felix has his way, no one else ever will. With an uncertain future ahead of him, he heads back to his roots—5th Street—the gym that started it all for him. It’s where he meets the humble but mighty little Ms. Ella.

The only times Felix had ever decided to forgo the usual meaningless fling and try a real relationship he was burned badly. Now the adorable but tenacious self-defense instructor has him considering this love thing one more time.

Then just when he begins to worry that his past is letting his possessive and jaded heart get the best of him, he’s blindsided in the most brutal way—he’s brought to his knees—to what could be the one low in his life he may never recover from.

 

 goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

amazon buy button

 

Other books in the 5th Street Series:

 

5th Street series

 

Buy the 5th Street series at:

amazon buy button

barnes and noble buy button

badge_itunes-lrg-1

 

Author Bio:

EliReyes

“I write because I must. It’s not a choice or a pastime, it’s an unyielding calling and my passion.”

~Elizabeth Reyes~

USA Today Bestselling Author, Elizabeth Reyes continues to answer her calling on a daily basis. Since releasing her debut novel FOREVER MINE (MORENO BROTHERS #1) in 2010 she has since published six more in that series, FOREVER YOURS, SWEET SOFIE, WHEN YOU WERE MINE, ALWAYS BEEN MINE, ROMERO and MAKING YOU MINE, with more stories about the Moreno family and their friends to come. She’s also published a second series, 5th Street which includes, NOAH, GIO, HECTOR, ABEL. FELIX the fifth in the series is scheduled to release November 13th 2014. Her Moreno Brother’s spinoff series FATE includes FATE, & BREAKING BRANDON, there is also more of this series still to come. Her latest release and first in a brand new series is DESERT HEAT about the diverse but equally sexy Santiago Brothers living in Las Vegas.

When she’s not writing (which is rare)she spends as much time as she can with her husband of over twenty years, two teen children, Great Dane, Dexter and big fat lazy cat, Tyson.

Author Social Links:

Website • Facebook • Twitter • Goodreads • Pinterest • Instagram

 

Release Blitz Hosted by:

button

 

 

 

0

Release Giveaway: The Fear of Letting Go by Sarra Cannon

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on November 12, 2014 in Giveaways, New Releases |

 

Happy Release to Sarra Cannon!

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00071]

A Fairhope Novel

New Adult Contemporary Romance

Released November 7, 2014

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iTunesKobo | Google Play

 

Jenna and Preston’s story:

She’ll have to let go of the past in order to find a love that could last a lifetime.

All I wanted when I moved to Fairhope was to disappear. I wanted to become a ghost. A stranger to everyone who knew me before, including my parents. Especially my parents. I never expected to become someone. A friend. A faithful employee. A scholar. And least of all, a lover. Love is a word I never truly understood until I moved here and witnessed it with my own eyes. My own heart.

I always believed love was a fairy tale, and now that I’m starting to fall for Fairhope’s most eligible billionaire, Preston Wright, it all feels like some cruel joke. A dream I need to shake myself out of before it’s too late. Before I make the same mistakes my mother made and end up right back where I started.

I know I should stay as far away from him as possible, but fate keeps pulling us back together. I’ve never been so afraid of something in my life. And I’ve never wanted someone more.

 

While each book in the Fairhope series can be read as a stand-alone, some characters interactions and events will be more meaningful if you follow this series from the beginning.

Book 1: The Trouble With Goodbye (*FREE)
Book 2: The Moment We Began
Book 3: A Season For Hope
Book 4: The Fear of Letting Go ___

 

About the Author

Sarra Cannon writes contemporary and paranormal fiction with both teen and college aged characters. Her novels often stem from her own experiences growing up in the small town of Hawkinsville, Georgia, where she learned that being popular always comes at a price and relationships are rarely as simple as they seem.

Her best selling Young Adult paranormal series, Peachville High Demons, has sold over 175,000 copies and been featured on Amazon’s Top 100 eBooks of 2012 for Children & Teens. A spin-off series will begin in late 2014 with Emerald Darkness.

She is a devoted (obsessed) fan of Hello Kitty and has an extensive collection that decorates her desk as she writes. She currently lives in South Carolina with her amazingly supportive husband and her adorable son.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads

 

The author is giving away a $25 Amazon Gift Card to celebrate with readers!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

0

Dual Cover Reveal: The Damned by Jennifer Snyder and a NEW Cover for The Unloved

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on November 11, 2014 in Cover Reveal |

 

COVER REVEAL

THE DAMNED

By Jennifer Snyder

 The Damned - Jennifer Snyder

Mature Young Adult

Releasing December 2, 2014

Cover designed by Once Upon A Time

To Pre-order: Amazon | Google Play | Smashwords


Cole Porter knows his home life isn’t ideal, but when a situation arises and he’s forced to pack up and move on, he realizes it’s better to be in a position where you understand the ins and outs rather than to be tossed into the unknown.

Emory Montgomery is as close to perfect as she can possibly be—good grades, beautiful, poised, popular—but having it all isn’t always enough. Perfect has its drawbacks, and even the most flawless people crack under its pressure.

There are people who come into our lives for a reason, when everything else is shattered, burned, and bruised. Sometimes their purpose is clear, but often the smoke and the brokenness conceal the light.

THE DAMNED can be read as a standalone novel.

 

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22886049-the-damned

 

 

NEW COVER FOR THE UNLOVED

The Unloved - Jennifer Snyder

Mature Young Adult

Released July 2012

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Google Play | Smashwords

Sometimes the love our heart needs to heal can be found in the familiar eyes of a childhood friend…

Julie Porter learned the hard way that trust is something which must be earned and not something to be given out lightly, those who say they love you are those who hold the power to hurt you most, and best friends can help you survive anything—until they move away.

Nick Owen knows a thing or two about a hard life. At a young age Nick learned how to take a hit and to make lemonade out of the lemons life tossed his way. Returning home after nearly two years of being away, all Nick cares about now is protecting his mom from the abusive hands of his father and catching up with his best friend—the girl who lived across the street, the girl he can’t seem to stop thinking about.

Finally reunited after two years apart, Nick and Julie are about to learn that age does nothing to protect you from life’s trials and tribulations, heartache and loss, but maybe together they’ll find a way to survive.

 

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15763978-the-unloved

 

___

About the Author

Jennifer Snyder lives in North Carolina were she spends most of her time writing New Adult and Young Adult Fiction, reading, and struggling to stay on top of housework. She is a tea lover with an obsession for Post-it notes and smooth writing pens. Jennifer lives with her husband and two children, who endure listening to songs that spur inspiration on repeat and tolerate her love for all paranormal, teenage-targeted TV shows.

SHATTERED SOUL was my debut novel and no, you haven’t seen the end of me yet…

WebsiteTwitterGoodreadsFacebook Author Page

 

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

0

Cover Reveal: Rise by Karina Bliss

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on November 10, 2014 in Reviews |

 

Rise-KarinaBliss-1600x2400

Adult Contemporary Rockstar Romance

Release: January 28, 2015

 

“You have the ability to make controversial characters sympathetic. Maybe I just want to be understood.”

Acclaimed literary biographer Elizabeth Winston writes about long-dead heroes. So bad boy rock icon Zander Freedman couldn’t possibly tempt her to write his memoir. Except the man is a mass of fascinating contradictions – manipulative, honest, gifted, charismatic, morally ambiguous.

In short, everything she sought in a biography subject. When in her life will she get another chance to work with a living legend? But saying yes to one temptation soon leads to another.

Suddenly she’s having heated fantasies about her subject, fantasies this blue-eyed-devil is only too willing to stoke. She’d thought self-control was in her DNA, after all she grew up a minister’s daughter. She thought wrong.

 

Outside your comfort zone is the only place worth living…

Zander Freedman has been an outlier – many would say an outcast – for most of his life. But there’s no disaster he can’t overcome, from the break-up of his band to the fall-out on his reputation. His Resurrection Tour is shaping up to be his greatest triumph – if his golden voice holds out. Contracting a respected biographer is simply about creating more buzz; Elizabeth’s integrity the key to consolidating his legacy as one of rock’s greats.

All the damn woman has to do is write down what he tells her. Not make him think.

Or encourage the good guy struggling to get out. And certainly not to fall in love for the first time in his life.

Turns out he is scared of something – being known.

 

Rise – a redemption story of a rock star going straight(er) through the love of a good(ish) woman

 

goodreads purple 1

 

 

About the Author

New Zealander Karina Bliss’s debut, Mr Imperfect, won a Romantic Book of the Year award in Australia, the first of eleven books published through Harlequin SuperRomance. Her most recent release, A Prior Engagement, was a Desert Island Keeper at likesbooks.com. Her next release, Rise, is a single title, self-published contemporary which continues the story of Zander Freedman, who first appeared as a villain inKarina’s bestselling title, What the Librarian Did – a book that made DearAuthor’s Best of the Year list in 2010.Two of Karina’s books have also featured in Sizzling Book Chats at SmartBitchesTrashyBooks.

Find out more at www.karinabliss.com

 

 

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

1

Cover Reveal: You Tarzan Me Jane by

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on November 6, 2014 in Cover Reveal |

 

TarzanJane_ebooksm

Adult Contemporary

Releasing December 2014

Cover by Mae I Designs

 

Moving on doesn’t always have to mean goodbye.

Widowed makeup artist Jane Sullivan is more comfortable keeping her husband’s memory alive than dating a pool full of sharks. Ella, her 4 year-old daughter, is her whole world.

When Jane meets Lucas Oliver, famous cover model, it’s hate at first sight. His playboy persona rubs her the wrong way.

Accustomed to every woman fawning over him, Lucas is drawn to the shy, uncompromising single mom and completely melts at the sight of Ella. He is determined to convince Jane that sometimes a second chance can mend a broken heart. —-


goodreads purple 1

You can sign-up for the blog tour HERE coming January 5– 16, 2015!

 

 

About the Author

I WRITE. I LIVE. I LOVE. I DREAM. I WRITE.

I’m a dreamer

I’m a sinner

I love my books

I conjure hooks

And heroes with good looks

 

Romance is my guilty pleasure

Taking me to places with new decor

Come join me if you dare

I promise not to bore

 

If you like to read my stories

Pray my husband continues snorin’

For he’s the one who keeps me up at night

When I give my heroes wings and flight.

 

Website | Twitter | Amazon

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

0

Giveaway: You Turn by Marion Croslydon

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on October 30, 2014 in Giveaways |

 

YouTurn.v5(1)

Adult Contemporary Romance

Second Chances Series

Release: October 6, 2014

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Kobo

 

“I was the little girl who loved you from afar. I was the woman who gave herself away for you and ended up losing a lot of who she was.”

“Then allow me to give back some of what I stole.”

After being dumped by her fiancé, Eleanor Carrington flees to Paris to stay with her self-medicated mother. While keeping her mom from popping pills like gummy bears, Eleanor launches a new, no-strings-attached life plan with absolutely NO falling in love whatsoever. On her part at least, because her self-esteem could do with one or two Frenchmen going un peu crazy for her.

What she doesn’t need is for her first Grand Amour to burst back into her life. What she doesn’t need is all-American Zachary Murdoch—or a more mature and sensitive version of him—to schmooze his way into her heart again. She grew up loving the/this/that man until he dumped her five summers ago. Whatever shit-show/life drama she’s just been through was a stroll. What Zach put her though was a climb up Mount Everest. Barefoot. In a bikini.

Now a club-owner in Paris, Zach is intrigued by the troubled woman who was once the sweet girl he had to give up. Offering a shoulder for her to cry on is what he owes her. Loving her is what he lost the right to. Because there’s a reason he broke up with Lenor and that reason is why she’s in Paris.

But Paris is called the City of Love…

Will he be her turn at love?

 

 

*** You Turn is a contemporary adult romance and part of the Second Chances series. However, Lenor’s story can be read as a stand-alone novel. There is no cliffhanger. ***

 

About the Author

Marion loves to share happy vibes, talk book crush, fictional boyfriends and sexual chemistry with like-minded people. And because she spends most of her days on her own deep inside her writing cave—and under the grey London sky—, you are welcome to come and say ‘hello’ from time to time. Just to make sure she doesn’t sink into insanity. Her friends, family and arch-enemies (there are quite a few) will be forever grateful for your help.

Blog | Twitter | Facebook

 

GIVEAWAY

The author is giving away (1) CHANEL Beauty Bag ($150 retail value, International), (1) Signed Copy of YOU TURN and (1) $20 Amazon Gift Card (International), and (1) Signed Copy of YOU TURN and (1) $10 Amazon Gift Card (International)!! You can enter on her Facebook page!

AToMR logo

1

Dual Cover Reveal by NYT and USA Today Bestselling Author Lexi Ryan

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on October 29, 2014 in Cover Reveal |

DUAL COVER REVEAL

By New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author

Lexi Ryan

SomethingReck Amazon

Adult Contemporary Romance

Expected release: December 22, 2014

Covers designed by Okay Creations

 

He talks dirty to me, but I don’t know his name.

He wants to tie me up, but I don’t know his face.

He turns me on, but I couldn’t point him out in a crowd.

I’ve fallen for an anonymous stranger, and tonight the anonymity ends. Tonight I want more than typed secrets and texted promises. I want something reckless. Heat. Passion. The thrill of being entirely possessed.

Because I suspect this anonymous stranger isn’t a stranger at all.

 

Lizzy Thompson met riverrat69 online through Something Real, a service promising to deliver meaningful relationships by forbidding its users to share names or photos until they’ve reached a certain benchmark. She was looking for love. He was researching an investment. They hit it off. Talked and flirted, hid behind screen names and cartoon avatars.

Now they’re breaking the rules and meeting in person. But Liz is prepared. She’s picked up hints and followed clues.

She’s ninety-percent convinced she’s discovered the identity of her dirty-talking online friend.

She wonders if her ex-lover Sam Bradshaw knows her identity too.

When she rolls the dice on one reckless night, her chance at something real could crumble.

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22434551-something-reckless

 

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00074]

___

SomethingReal Amazon

 

Expected release for SOMETHING REAL: February 2015

Description not available.

 

About the Author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling romance author Lexi Ryan’s novels have been described as intense, emotional, and wickedly sexy. A former college professor, she now writes full-time from her home in Indiana, where she lives with her husband, two children, and a neurotic dog. Find her on Facebook or Twitter to chat about books, TV, and her children’s latest antics.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

1

Release & Giveaway: Blocked by Jennifer Lane

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on October 21, 2014 in Excerpts, Giveaways |

 

 

Blocked Cover

 

New Adult Contemporary/Sports Romance

Released October 21, 2014

Amazon

College freshman Lucia Ramirez has a secret crush on Dane Monroe. He’s a tall drink of water — blond, brash, and one hell of a volleyball player. Hijole. Lucia hopes her volleyball scholarship to his school will make him notice her.

Too bad what’s noticeable is Dane’s obvious hatred for Lucia. Her family’s politics contradict everything he stands for. And politics are front and center in both their families. Dane’s mother is about to face Lucia’s father in the race for US President.

When Secret Service throws them together, Dane can’t deny his frustrating attraction to Lucia’s athletic curves and sweet faith in the world. Amid the intense pressure of college athletics and presidential politics, can opposites not just attract, but overcome overwhelming odds to be together? Or do their differences block their match from the start?

 

 

About Dane Monroe from BLOCKED

Dane’s look inspired by 6’8” swimmer Matt Grevers http://www.pinterest.com/pin/175710822937326450/

 

Name: Dane Monroe

Nickname: GD (Great Dane)

Age: 19

Birthday: October 24 (Scorpio)

Year in School: Sophomore at Highbanks University on a full athletic scholarship

Major: Psychology (his mother is a psychologist)

Height: 6’8”

Weight: 229

Volleyball position: Setter

Religion: Spiritual, not ascribing to one particular religion

Politics: Liberal (Democrat)

Parents: Lois Monroe and Patrick DuPont, unhappily married…Lois is a US Senator and the Democratic nominee for US president

Siblings: Younger sister Jessica (Jessie) is a competitive swimmer in eleventh grade

Virtues: Leadership, intelligence, athletic talent, high energy, hidden caring nature, sense of humor

Vices: Arrogance, impulsivity, rule breaker, know-it-all, potty mouth (he calls Lucia’s brother “bitch nugget”)

Favorite musician: A rock band composed of Highbanks alumni

Best friend on the volleyball team: Josh

Ex-girlfriend: Nina from the women’s team

Quirks: Dane learned to speak Spanish on a humanitarian mission to Guatemala… he’s unbeatable at the card game euchre… he’s proud of his mother for being the first female presidential nominee… he has a 4.0 GPA… he’s hooked on the soap opera Days of Our Lives

Secret dream: To make the national volleyball team and play for Team USA

 

bigstock-Beautiful-Young-Woman-4377071

About Lucia Ramirez

Name: Lucia Ramirez

Nicknames: Lucy, Rez, and Luz (Dane’s nickname for her)

Age: 18

Birthday: September 27 (Virgo)

Year in School: Freshman at Highbanks University on a full athletic scholarship

Major: Undecided, possibly Business

Height: 6’2”

Weight: No way she’ll tell you that! She’s fit, muscular, and curvy, with a sizable booty and strong legs that help her jump high to block and spike

Volleyball position: Outside hitter

Religion: Catholic

Politics: Conservative (Republican)

Parents: Adolfo and Silvia Ramirez, happily married…Adolfo is the governor of Texas and the Republican nominee for US president

Siblings: Older brother Alejandro (Alex) is in medical school at Johns Hopkins University, younger brother Mateo (Matty) is in eleventh grade in Texas

Virtues: Athletic talent (especially blocking ability), work ethic, skillfulness at mediating between her older and younger brothers, sweetness/kindness, loyalty, competitiveness, passion

Vices: Self-doubt, negative body image, high anxiety (worry and panic attacks), strong desire to please, conflict avoidance, naiveté

Favorite musician: Neil Diamond

Friends on the volleyball team: Maddie (team captain), Kaitlyn (fellow freshman)

Enemy on the volleyball team: Nina

Pet: Esquincle (Spanish for “Brat”), long-haired black cat also known as Squinky

Quirks: Lucia is left-handed… she’s not girly and has never carried a purse… she’s fiercely loyal to her father… she worries about her younger brother’s diabetes and her mother’s failed attempts to quit smoking… she hates her older brother’s bossiness… she wears T-shirts with volleyball sayings (see them here: http://www.pinterest.com/jenlanebooks/blocked-by-jennifer-lane/)

Secret dream: To be loved by Dane Monroe

 

Can opposites attract release graphic

 

GIVEAWAY

Jennifer Lane is giving away a $10 Amazon Gift Card on her Facebook page for the release! You can enter HERE.

 

About the Author

Get psyched for romance with psychologist/author (psycho author) Jennifer Lane! By day she witnesses growth in her psychotherapy clients, and by night she wrangles misbehaving fictional characters as she writes sports romance and romantic suspense with a psychological twist. She can’t decide which is more fun.

A swimmer and volleyball player in college, Jen wove some of her own experiences into Streamline—a military mystery about swimmers. And readers can dip their toes into Jen’s world of swimming romance by sampling her free New Adult novella Swim Recruit.

College volleyball romance Blocked is Jen’s newest release, launching 10-21-14. Peek inside big-time college sports and even bigger national politics when the offspring of two presidential candidates find out whether opposites really do attract, or their match is blocked from the start.

Stories of redemption interest Jen the most, especially the healing power of love. She is also the author of The Conduct Series, a romantic suspense trilogy that includes With Good Behavior, Bad Behavior, and On Best Behavior. Ultimately, whether writing or reading, Jen loves stories that make her laugh and cry.

In her spare time she enjoys exercising, attending book club, hanging out with her plus-size, “I’m not fat, I’m big-boned” Izzie cat, and visiting her sisters and their families in Chicago and Hilton Head.

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter 

 

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

0

Release & Giveaway: Blood Vine Box Set by Amber Belldene & Omnific Publishing

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on October 16, 2014 in Giveaways, Interviews |

 

The Blood Vine Box Set Release

with an exclusive novella included!

Release: October 14, 2014

BloodVineSeries_v2_500x500

 

THE BLOOD VINE SERIES

An Adult Paranormal Romance Series

Published by Omnific Publishing

 

The Maras vampires will go to any length to save their kind. Only their lovers can show them how.

 

Blood Vine: When public relations pro Zoey Porter arrives at an enchanting California winery, she discovers her sexy new client is the almost one-night stand she can’t forget. Zoey has vowed never to risk her heart again, but Andre needs her help.

 

Blood Entangled: Kos Maras’s orderly life is in shambles–he must distribute Blood Vine to a population of ailing vampires, but Hunters block him at every turn. To make matters worse, each night, he watches over a temptingly beautiful but unattainable woman sleeping in his bed.

 

Blood Reunited: Vampire biologist Bel Maras must create a cure for the wasting disease that plagues his family. But when it fails, only his ancient and estranged godmother Uta can help.

Now these old enemies must overcome their past to save the vampires and come to peace with the bond they never chose.

 

 

Writing BLOOD VINE

By Amber Belldene

A few weeks ago, one of my priest-friends was late for our colleague group and when we called her to inquire where she was, she was surprised—she’d gotten caught up in reading Blood Reunited and lost track of time.  I was, of course, insanely flattered by this turn of events.  When she arrived, she gushed about the book, but instead of letting my ego inflate, I had begun to panic.

“It’s so good,” she said.

“But, is it better than the other book you just read?” She had recently read a draft of my work-in-progress, which is a book I’ve been gestating for years. I call it the book of my heart, and when I’m feeling grandiose after a couple glasses of wine, I’ve even called it my magnum opus. I was certain that new book was the best thing I’ve ever written.

She knows all this, and so she winced when she made her confession.  “Honestly, yeah. I liked Blood Reunited better.”

“But why!?!” I think I might have actually said exclamation mark-question mark-exclamation.

“It’s the characters. After three books, I love them so much. I’ve been with them for so long, been through so much with them.”

Okay. She had a point there.  I had blubbered, balled, and gushed when writing “the end” of the Blood Vine series.  It was so emotional and cathartic, taking those characters to a hard-won happy ending.

The Blood Vine series is about four separate couples, but it is also about a family—about how they interact, dole out shit talk and make hard sacrifices for each other. It’s about an ancient conflict and a struggle for peace.  And oh yeah, it’s about wine, which I happen to love.

The books have a huge cast of characters and by the end, you know them all very well.  Somewhere along the way, I worried I was nuts when I began to feel like I was actually a part of the ensemble, one more wacky member of the Maras family.  I think some readers have felt that way too, and I’m proud of that as a writer. I love the idea of readers being drawn in so much that they feel they are part of the gang, right there at the Kastel Estate Winery.

Perhaps it is this feeling of belonging for me as the writer that made it so sad to end the series after three books. Some of my readers didn’t want it to end either. One of my favorite reviews on Amazon says, “Hope, pray, demand–okay, even beg–for the series to continue.”  Again, insanely flattering and touching.  If only it were possible!  But I always planned this series to have a clear plot arc. I personally want to read tight, overarching conflicts, not meandering series, and so that is what I wrote.  In fact, the story is so “finished” that I struggled about how to add a short story about Pedro and Lucas, my M/M star-crossed lovers. It took a while, but I finally figured it out, so look for it in the boxed set!

And after that, I’m saying farewell to the Blood Vine world, unless my muse changes her mind.  I hope all my readers will come along with me to the new worlds I build, and feel just as much a part of them in time.

 

 

About the Author

I grew up on the Florida panhandle, swimming with alligators, climbing oak trees and diving for scallops…when I could pull myself away from a book. As a child, I hid my Nancy Drew novels inside the church bulletin and read mysteries during sermons—an irony that is not lost on me when I preach these days.

I’m an Episcopal Priest with a bachelor’s degree in religious studies. I believe stories are the best way to explore human truths. Some people think it’s strange for a minister to write romance, but it is perfectly natural to me, because the human desire for love is at the heart of every romance novel and God made people with that desire. I write paranormal, historical and contemporary romance and live with my husband and two children in San Francisco.

My literary agent is the fabulous Becca Stumpf of the Prospect Agency.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Google + | Pinterest

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

Copyright © 2010-2014 A Tale of Many Reviews All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.2, from BuyNowShop.com.