0

New from NYT Bestselling Author Nicole Williams!!

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on July 23, 2014 in Cover Reveal |

 

HARD KNOX

A New Series by NYT Bestselling Author Nicole Williams

 

HardKnox 5x8 cream 340-2

 

The Outsider Chronicles, #1

New Adult/Adult Contemporary

Releasing August 12, 2014

Cover designed by Okay Creations

Knox Jagger. The name inspires resent in every male at Sinclair University, want in every female, and contempt in Charlie Chase.

Charlie can be summed up in three words: independent, independent, and independent. To Charlie, Knox epitomizes everything that’s wrong with college males: prolific one-night stands, drunken senseless fights, and a body that hints at prioritizing gym time over study time.

As an up-and-coming writer for Sinclair University’s newspaper, Charlie’s tasked with getting to the bottom of who’s been dropping little white pills into girls’ drinks at parties. In an ocean of All-American boys sporting polo shirts and innocent smiles, Knox is the obvious suspect. As evidence piles up against the bad boy of Sinclair, Charlie becomes more and more certain it isn’t Knox. But when her drink is dosed at a party and she wakes up on Knox’s couch the next morning, Charlie’s left with more questions than answers when it comes to Knox Jagger.

How can Charlie ever hope to uncover the truth behind a guy so closed off he’s become . . .

Hard Knox.

 

goodreads purple 1

 

About the Author

I’m the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of the CRASH series (HarperTeen, S&S UK), LOST & FOUND series, UP IN FLAMES (S&S UK), The EDEN TRILOGY, and a handful of others. I write stories about everyday kinds of people who find themselves in extraordinary kinds of situations. I tell love stories with happy endings because I believe in making the world a better place, and that’s one tiny way I can make it so. I’m one of those people who still believe in true love and soul mates, and would rather keep my head in the clouds any day over having my feet firmly on the ground.

Blog | Twitter | Facebook

 

 

The author is offering (1) print copy of HARD KNOX! Visit her Facebook page to enter!

 

To sign-up for the HARD KNOX Blog Hop in honor of this release and/or the HARD KNOX Blog Tour, visit AToMR’s site!

Hard Knox Blog Hop Banner

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

0

Cover: Forget You by Jennifer Snyder

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on July 18, 2014 in Cover Reveal |

 

FORGET YOU

By Jennifer Snyder

 FINAL_COVER

Cold Creek Companion Series

New Adult Contemporary

Expected Release: September 2, 2014

Cover  designed by Lindee Robinson Photography

Eva Bennett might be known for her candid approach and sharp tongue, but on the inside she’s still a vulnerable twenty-four year old who’s sick of kissing toads and being habitually single.

Full of comical one-liners and wielding a charming smile, Sawyer Keeton is more than meets the eye. After the news of his brother’s tragic death, however, Sawyer is pulled into a place filled with crippling emotions and pain—a place no one can seem to reach him…until the moment Eva steps into his life.

A twist of fate will bring them together and then tear them apart, forcing the two to learn there are people in life whom you cherish and pray will never forget you.


 photo goodreadspurple1_zpscd53f076.png
___

About the Author

Jennifer Snyder lives in North Carolina were she spends most of her time writing New Adult and Young Adult Fiction, reading, and struggling to stay on top of housework. She is a tea lover with an obsession for Post-it notes and smooth writing pens. Jennifer lives with her husband and two children, who endure listening to songs that spur inspiration on repeat and tolerate her love for all paranormal, teenage-targeted TV shows.

SHATTERED SOUL was my debut novel and no, you haven’t seen the end of me yet…

WebsiteTwitterGoodreadsFacebook Author Page

 

The author is offering an ARC of FORGET YOU to one lucky reader! To enter, please visit the giveaway on Jennifer Snyder’s Facebook page!

Jennifer_promo2 (1)

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

0

Cover Reveal & ARC Giveaway: Fast Glamour by Maggie Marr

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on July 16, 2014 in Cover Reveal |

 

FAST GLAMOUR

 BY MAGGIE MARR

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00071]

Glamour Series, #3

New Adult Contemporary

Releasing July 2014

Cover designed by Okay Creations

 

A broken heart forever bears scars. . .

Sterling Legend grew up a prince in the City of Angels. His life was perfect and he wanted for nothing until his entire world shattered. He lost everything dear to him the year he turned seventeen. Now he’s grown into a formidable man on the cusp of outrageous success. His life revolves around his work and all the beautiful baubles that Los Angeles can offer to a wealthy young man. He’s buried his feelings and his heart so that he will never be hurt again.

 

A lost love that she could never forget . . .

Rhiannon Bliss was forced to leave L.A. to extinguish the fire of a first love, but an ocean, a different country, and seven years couldn’t quell her desires. Now she’s returned to the City of Angels to care for her mother. Can she fight her feelings for the man that once broke her heart? Does she even want to?

 

Finding your way back to love can be an impossible path. . . 

Sterling Legend is at the top of the entertainment industry. His fast rise to success due to his talent and to his last name. But Sterling wants to find success on his own. He is on the path to producing his first film, without his famous father as the star, when the ex-love of his life re-enters his world. Rhiannon Bliss left seven years before without a word. Sterling has no need to forgive, but his desire for Rhiannon is overwhelming. Can two broken hearts use the heat of their attraction to find their way back to love?

 photo goodreadspurple1_zpscd53f076.png

 

About the Author

 

Maggie Marr grew up in the Midwest and made the move to Los Angeles to work in the movie business.  She was a motion picture literary agent for ICM before becoming a full time writer.  She’s written for film and TV and ghostwritten for celebrities.  She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and children.

Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Pinterest | Blog | Amazon

 

Maggie Marr is offering an ARC of FAST GLAMOUR! To enter, please visit the Facebook giveaway page.

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

0

Book Review: Sidelined by Kendra C. Highley

Posted by Jennifer McDonald on June 22, 2014 in Reviews |

Sidelined

Published October 1st 2013

Genre:  YA/Contemporary

Copy provided by Netgalley

Synopsis:

After being pushed to excel her entire life, high school basketball star Genna Pierce is finally where she wants to be. University scouts are taking notice, her team is on its way to the state tourney, and Jake Butler, the hot boy she’s daydreamed about since ninth grade, is showing somedefinite interest. When he asks her out and their relationship takes off, Genna believes things can’t get better.

Then, it’s over.

A freak accident ends her career before it’s even begun. Her parents are fighting more than ever, her friends don’t understand what she’s going through, and she’s not sure who she is without basketball. And while he tries to be there for her, Genna doesn’t understand how Jake could ever want the broken version of the girl he fell for.

Her life in a tailspin, Genna turns to the only solace that eases her pain: Vicodin.

Review by Jennifer

I’ve watched enough television to see that addiction isn’t pretty.  It’s messy, hard to kick, and covers up issues that no one wants to face.  Sidelined takes a look at addiction and how it easily slips in to take over.

Genna is a strong character.  She’s bright, athletic, and driven.  Her future is mapped out.  She knows what she wants and how she is going to get there.  The only problem is life doesn’t always go as planned.  Genna doesn’t have a plan B when her goals are rearranged for her.  I really liked the way the story played out.  It was a gradual build of everything caving in until it had to be dealt with.  I think everything was just so overwhelming for the girl that had it together until she needed something to help her cope.  Her pain wasn’t just physical, but emotional as well.  Unfortuantely, she let the prescription pain killer become her coping mechanism.

Watching the spiral was heartbreaking.  I think the author did a great job of highlighting the problem.  I’ve never been addicted to anything (unless chocolate counts) to the point of letting it consume me.  I appreciate the realism of what takes place.

The good thing about this story is even though Genna was pushing people away, she still had support.  Her father was amazing.  She got the help she needed.  The story ended on a positive note.  I think it’s to show that no matter how low you sink, there is always a way up.  She had the support of friends, family, and her therapist.

I really recommend this book.  It shows the emotion, the craving, and the healing.  It’s a journey that is real and raw.  We all get sidelined now and again.  It made me take a look at what I do to cope when things go another way than what I had planned.  This was a great read and I hope you take a chance on it.

0

Book review: The Scar Boys by Len Vlahos

Posted by Jennifer McDonald on June 20, 2014 in Reviews |

The Scar Boys

Published January 21, 2014

Genre:  YA

Copy provided by Netgalley

Synopsis:

A severely burned teenager. A guitar. Punk rock. The chords of a rock ‘n’ roll road trip in a coming-of-age novel that is a must-read story about finding your place in the world…even if you carry scars inside and out.

In attempting to describe himself in his college application essay–help us to become acquainted with you beyond your courses, grades, and test scores–Harbinger (Harry) Jones goes way beyond the 250-word limit and gives a full account of his life.

The first defining moment: the day the neighborhood goons tied him to a tree during a lightning storm when he was 8 years old, and the tree was struck and caught fire. Harry was badly burned and has had to live with the physical and emotional scars, reactions from strangers, bullying, and loneliness that instantly became his everyday reality.

The second defining moment: the day in 8th grade when the handsome, charismatic Johnny rescued him from the bullies and then made the startling suggestion that they start a band together. Harry discovered that playing music transported him out of his nightmare of a world, and he finally had something that compelled people to look beyond his physical appearance. Harry’s description of his life in his essay is both humorous and heart-wrenching. He had a steeper road to climb than the average kid, but he ends up learning something about personal power, friendship, first love, and how to fit in the world. While he’s looking back at the moments that have shaped his life, most of this story takes place while Harry is in high school and the summer after he graduates.

Review by Jennifer

What makes my reading experience more interesting is when I can relate to the characters.  It could be the name of the character, an experience they had, or the same interests.  I found that in this book.  I could relate to Harry and all his scars.

There are issues in this book that, I think, will speak to many readers.  In this day and age we see on the news, the internet, and even in our day to day lives bullying.  It’s become this big issue in our schools and unfortunately it doesn’t ever stop.  Someone is always ready to step in and take up the position of bully.  If we look close enough we might just see in our own situations that either we were the bully or we were the one being bullied.  This story just spoke volumes to me.  With the incident that happened to Harry that left him scarred to the treatment he received because of those scars had my heart breaking for him.  I could relate.  I didn’t get my scars from intentional meanness, but from whatever genetics were at work in my DNA.  For my whole life I have had a skin reaction to the sun.  My body has scars from it.  I was teased for it.  Just like Harry.  He was teased for his scars, I’m sure his were way worse than mine but I could just feel all those feelings again while reading this book.

There’s so much emotion in this book.  Harry does find a way to become more than his scars.  His friendship with Johnny is that turning point.  Music becomes their thing, and eventually they have their band…The Scar Boys.  I loved reading Harry’s journey.  It wasn’t an easy one but I wouldn’t want it to be that way.  Life is not easy and things don’t wrap up in nice little packages.  Harry learns a few things a long the way and I believe he is a better, stronger person for it.  His friend Johnny, on the surface, seems to be great for Harry, but I found him to be controlling and selfish.  I liked him only for the fact that he was the one that got Harry out of his hiding.  Whether it was from encouragement or Harry getting ticked off doesn’t matter.  Harry came into his own.

The conclusion of the story was ironic.  Tables are turned and Harry is the voice of reason.  He gets to step into the role that Johnny was for him.

I loved the way the story was told.  I loved the characters.  I loved everything about this story.  It’s one of those that will be with me for a while because it resonated within me.

0

Book review: We are the Goldens by Dana Reinhardt

Posted by Jennifer McDonald on June 19, 2014 in Reviews |

We are the Goldens

Published May 27th 2014

Genre:  YA

Copy provided by Netgalley

Synopsis:

Nell knows a secret about her perfect, beautiful sister Layla. If she tells, it could blow their world apart.

When Nell and Layla were little, Nell used to call them Nellayla. Because to Nell, there was no difference between where she started and her adored big sister ended. They’re a unit; divorce made them rely on each other early on, so when one pulls away, what is the other to do? But now, Nell’s a freshman in high school and Layla is changing, secretive. And then Nell discovers why. Layla is involved with one of their teachers. And even though Nell tries to support Layla, to understand that she’s happy and in love, Nell struggles with her true feelings: it’s wrong, and she must do something about it.

Review by Jennifer

First, I have to say that I liked the writing style.  It was a refreshing take on character point of view.  The person telling the story is Nell.  She does it in such a way that she’s not talking to the reader as events unfold, but to her sister explaining her reasons for why she must tell.  It’s really quite remarkable.

The story grabbed my attention from the first moment.  Like everyone else, I enjoy learning a secret.  With Nell’s voice she wavers between what is right and what is wrong.  Should she tell or let things slide?  It’s really captivating to read what goes on in the lives of Nell and her sister.

The whole idea of teacher/student relationships and the lines that get cross are not new ones.  It’s in the news every so often.  This story looks at it in a different way, from the close bond of sisters.  Nell’s reactions to everything going on were natural and real.  The love she has for her sister is obvious and heartbreaking.

This book was not what I was expecting.  I liked the title and thought it would lend to a good story.  When someone says they’re “golden”, it usually means that everything is perfect.  However, in this story, there are cracks and flaws to the Goldens.  It’s really a great play on the words.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  Not to be cheesy or anything, but it really is “golden”.  (see what I did there? I, too, can play with words)

5

Book Review: Aspen by Rebekah Crane

Posted by Jennifer McDonald on June 18, 2014 in Reviews |

Aspen

Published June 5th 2014

Genre:  YA

Copy provided for an honest review

Synopsis:

One quiet night in Boulder, Colorado, Aspen Yellow-Sunrise Taylor made a mistake.

In the next instant, her life changed forever.

Aspen doesn’t want to remember the car accident that killed Katelyn Ryan, a sleek-haired popular soccer player. But forgetting is hard– because Katelyn may have died — but she didn’t leave. Her ghost is following Aspen around, and heading into senior year, it’s kind of a problem. Especially when Katelyn’s former boyfriend Ben appears to be the only person at school with a clue as to how Aspen feels.

Popularity, Homecoming Court, hot guys – none of these things ever mattered to Aspen. She’s been busy trying to keep her stoner mother Ninny in line and out of unemployment. But with Ben sitting next to her in Physics and her therapist begging her to remember all the things she wants to forget, Aspen is thrust into a vivid, challenging world she can’t control … and doesn’t want to.

A darkly funny, emotionally gripping story of opening up, letting go, and moving on, Aspen is about the best-worst accident of your life … and what comes next.

Review by Jennifer

This is a story that I thoroughly enjoyed.  It had a great mix of characters that were so different from one another that they just fit.  From the hippie mom to the word defining daughter to the popular girl that wasn’t physically around to the loyal friends, it all made sense.  Kind of like real life.  The characters are all interesting and make this story work.

This book had some quirky humor with a touch of drama.  Aspen deals with a pot smoking mom and her guilt over what happened one night.  I believe Aspen is like most people.  She doesn’t want to face her emotions so if she doesn’t talk about it then it goes away.  That’s hardly ever the case.  She’s haunted by her guilt.  Other than that she’s a quirky girl.  She loves words and their definitions.  She has read the whole dictionary.  That’s right, kind of quirky.  Aspen’s friends are a great compliment to her personality.  I really liked Kim.  She’s an Asian girl that doesn’t want to have the “stereotypical” name…Kim.  So she goes through name changes (Jasmine, Tiffany, Sabrina, etc, you get the picture?) There’s also Ben, Aspen’s “lab partner”.  Ben is a nice guy.  He has his own issues, but he likes to be around Aspen.  I think they understand each other. Also, Ben gave me a new appreciation for Chapstick.  Just read the book and you will see.  Chapstick?  Who knew?

It’s great to see this story unfold.  I loved the bits of humor as well as the serious moments. This book is a treat.  I was surprised by how much it drew me in, but happy it did.

You can grab a copy of this book at:

amazon buy button

Amazon

   barnes and noble buy button

Barnes & Noble

18

Book Review: Mason by Tijan

Posted by Jennifer McDonald on June 17, 2014 in Reviews |

Mason

Published: June 16th 2014

Genre:  YA

Synopsis:  

Mason Kade is not known to be nice. He is ruthless, manipulative, and unforgiving. Most will say that he is an a**hole and he is to those that cross him or cross his loved ones. However, he does not want to be who he is. He does not enjoy hurting others, but there is no limit to the lengths he will go to protect himself and his brother.

This is the story of how he came to be and this is why so many love Mason Kade.

Review by Jennifer

When I saw that this book was available for purchase, I didn’t hesitate.  I promptly went to the 1-click button to get this on my Kindle as quick as I could.  Thank goodness it’s a short read because I was not going to go to sleep until I had devoured every word.

Do you know Mason Kade?  I mean really know Mason Kade?  You might think so, but you don’t completely know Mason until you read this book.

Here’s what I knew about Mason going into this book.  Mason is a whole lot of Hot. He can have anyone he wants and do anything he wants.  He answers to no one.  He’s loyal to Logan, Sam and the few friends he lets in his circle of trust.  He has no problems settling a score or putting people in their place.  He’s not nice when he comes at you.  It’s dark, yet tantalizing.

Here’s what I know after reading this book.  Mason is still hot (why wouldn’t he be?).  He’s still the loyal big brother (He’s got your back Logan).  The bond that Mason and Logan have is solid (solid as a rock), built from the ruins of their crumbling family (dad’s a cheater).  Anger with the father drives Mason and he will always protect what is his.

This book is revealing.  It takes apart the layers of Mason so the reader understands him better.  It also shines some light on Logan.  We get more detail about the events that shaped the present.  It’s a well written book that leaves no questions unanswered.  After reading it I felt that I had pieces to a puzzle that I could now use to complete the picture.  I just had to go back and read Fallen Crest High, Fallen Crest Family, and Fallen Crest Public.

I’ve said it before, there is a dark quality to what some of the characters do and say, but that just makes it all the more delectable.  It’s an intense story that gets better with each book.  It’s not over yet.  I’m salivating for more.  More Logan, More Mason, and More revelations.

0

Cover Reveal: Being by Mechelle Morrison

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on June 13, 2014 in Cover Reveal |

 

COVER REVEAL

 being4 (1)

Young Adult Fantasy/Paranormal Romance

Releasing June 13, 2014

 

Seventeen-year-old Shepherd doesn’t believe in stuff he can’t explain, like ghosts or life after death.  So when he awakens in a strange city, seventy-five years ahead of where he was at breakfast, he’s understandably confused.  But not alone.  His sister’s there.  So is the family cat.

 

Five minutes into their new future, Shepherd witnesses a murder.  He finds a strange marble with a sun-colored shadow.  It begins to rain, his sister wants to go home, the cat runs away.  Stranger still, the people on the sidewalk don’t seem to see him.  No one can hear him.  Until he meets Tienne.  It’s not love, but it could be.  She’s got fabulous blue eyes.  At least that’s what Shepherd thought right before she fainted.

 

What he doesn’t know is that Tienne knows everything about him—even the dark secret he created in a previous life.  His secret would explain his situation and a whole lot more, if he could remember it.  Which he can’t.  Tienne wants to help, but she once swore she’d keep his secret—even from him.  And she’s not the kind of girl to break her word.

 

Deep down, Shepherd knows he’s forgotten something major.  But he doesn’t want to remember; in fact, he does everything in his power not to.

 

Until someone tries to kill Tienne.

 

BEING is a different kind of ghost story about the power of memory, the nature of the universe and just how far one boy will go to ensure the love of his life lasts . . . forever.      Read chapter one:  www.mechellemorrisonbooks.blogspot.com

 

 

 

About the Author

As a child I filled my journals with someday-my-prince-will-come fantasies. Then one day my prince arrived, driving a silver Tundra, and we adopted a fine daughter. Life got busy—work, family, daily cooking—but I still spend my evenings giving voice to the stories inside my head. Only now instead of locking them away, I publish them.

 Blog | Goodreads

 

1

Release, Sale, and Giveaway from Jessie Evans!

Posted by Julie, A Tale of Many Reviews on June 9, 2014 in Reviews |

Wild Rush fans!

Jessie Evans has just released ONE PERFECT LOVE (Wild Rush, #2)!

One Perfect Love Cover

New Adult Contemporary Romance

Release June 9, 2014

Wild Rush Book 2

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1igytkE

Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/1oDQNda

iBooks: http://bit.ly/1ec1bkQ

A new adult story about breaking out, moving on, and learning that some loves never die…

It’s been almost a year since that night in the attic, since something inside me died, and a new Caitlin Cooney was born from the wreckage. The months that followed nearly killed me, but I survived and fought for the happiness Gabe was determined to give me, my little brothers, and my baby niece. Now, my family has everything I ever wanted to give them, and I have a new boyfriend. He’s the last person I imagined I’d end up with, but we’re good together. Life is good.

If only good was good enough, and I wasn’t still consumed by a love so fierce nothing can put what I feel for Gabe to rest.

Still, I believe the worst is over, until I’m forced back to my hometown and realize how many lies have been told to snuff out the wicked rush I found in Gabe’s arms.

 

ONE PERFECT LOVE is an edgy, sexy, boundary-pushing read intended for readers over the age of seventeen. The book features graphic love scenes, violence, strong language, liars, heartbreak, and in-depth descriptions of that mother-in-law we all pray we never have. Read at your own risk.

 

Also, THIS WICKED RUSH is on sale for .99 cents now through June 23rd to celebrate the release of book #2!

This Wicked Rush New Cover

Wild Rush, Book #1 on SALE now through June 23rd!

Amazon:http://amzn.to/1eAG6WY
iBooks: http://bit.ly/1da5gei
Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/1gxAoQE
Google Play: http://bit.ly/1msT4qz
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1mWf6ER

“You know what I like, Caitlin. You know I want you to beg for it.”

Gabe

I’ve never been the kind of person to give up on something I want. Now, I refuse to take no for an answer. I want this girl. I want to help her, and sleep with her, and steal things with her, and make her laugh the way she did right that night in her friend’s car. We’re going to have a summer neither of us will ever forget, and by the time we go our separate ways, she’ll have enough money to go to college, and I will have had her…every way I want her.

Caitlin

I’m starting to forget why it’s a bad idea to get in any deeper with a boy who is a walking, talking contradiction. A boy who has a taste for breaking the law, a wicked way with words, and a confident touch that leaves no doubt he’s way more experienced than I am. I’ve spent my life putting aside my own needs and cleaning up after other people’s mistakes. Now, I want to make a mistake of my own.

I know I’m playing with fire, but for Gabe I’m willing to beg to be burned.

THIS WICKED RUSH is an edgy, sexy, boundary-pushing read intended for readers over the age of seventeen. The book features graphic love scenes, violence, strong language, and thieves in love. Read at your own risk.

“A steamy, high-octane love story that will have you wondering how far you’d go if you stopped playing by the rules. And may even make you want to step over the lines.” –New York Times Bestselling Author, Lauren Blakely

 

PLUS, Jessie is giving away (3) Sand Dollar Charms and a Gift Card to Bath and Body Works!

charm_ad_new

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/ZTkwOGY5YzMzZGU5ODRhYjVjOWJkOGQ5NTlmNmNlOjE=/

 

About the Author

Jessie Evans gave up a career as an international woman of mystery to write contemporary Southern romances and sexy, boundary-pushing New Adult reads.

She enjoys sweet, small town romances, and fictional walks on the wild side, and can’t imagine a better job than playing pretend for a living.

She’s married to the man of her dreams, and together they’re raising a few children in a cabin in the boonies. She grew up in rural Arkansas, spending summers running wild, being chewed by chiggers, and now appreciates her home in a chigger-free part of the world even more.

When she’s not writing, Jessie enjoys playing her dulcimer (badly), sewing the worlds ugliest quilts to give to her friends, going for bike rides with her house full of boys, and wandering the woods, glass of wine and camera in hand, on the lookout for Bigfoot.

A southern girl, born and bred, Jessie loves writing romances with sizzle, and hopes you’ll enjoy her stories set in the south.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

 photo AToMRPRomotionslogo_zps7a14e565.png

Copyright © 2010-2014 A Tale of Many Reviews All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.2, from BuyNowShop.com.